Twitter Celebrates #Diwali With Rangoli Emoji in Seven Regional Languages

For the first time, the Diwali emoji will be available with hashtags in Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati,Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam and Punjabi

As Indians around the world prepare to celebrate the festival of light, Twitter joins the festive occasion by launching a special #HappyDiwali emoji. To encourage more people to join in the celebrations in their own language, Twitter is introducing for the first time, the Diwali emoji with hashtags from seven different regional languages — Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati,Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam and Punjabi. The emoji is available starting today until 22 October, 2017.

Unlike past years, Twitter’s Diwali emoji this year symbolises a ‘rangoli’– the purpose of which goes beyond beautification, as it is believed to attract wealth, happiness as well as prosperity. The special Twitter emoji of a ‘Rangoli’ will appear  when users include the following hashtags in their Tweets: #HappyDiwali, #HappyDeepavali, #Diwali, #Deepavali, #दिवाली, #दीपावली, #शुभदीपावली, #शुभदीपावळी, #ദീപാവലിആശംസകള്‍, #ದೀಪಾವಳಿಹಬ್ಬದಶುಭಾಷಯಗಳು, #தீபாவளிநல்வாழ்த்துக்கள், and #ਦਿਵਾਲੀਮੁਬਾਰਕ


Commenting on the launch, Keya Madhvani, Head of Music and Lifestyle Partnerships, Twitter India, said “Diwali is an important festive occasion for India and we want to encourage more people to share in the celebration. This year, we’re taking it to the next level by enabling people to Tweet with the Diwali emoji in regional language hashtags, adding colour to the conversations around India’s brightest festival!”

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *